top of page
  • Loretta Hubler

Halloween at campground

Saturday, October 8th the campground celebrated Halloween. Mary, Carol and I dressed up as the Sanderson Sisters in Hocus Pocus. We dressed in our costumes in the afternoon and sat on the porch for a little while but soon retreated into the office just to keep warm. Carol made pumpkin pies for us that were at least 5" deep and I made a charcuterie tray depicting the Sanderson sisters. I purchased 3 Brie cheese rounds, a block of horseradish cheese, strawberries, black raspberries, kiwi, and black grapes. I used the Brie cheese as faces for each Sanderson sister. Sara’s hair was horseradish cheese in strips, her dress was black grapes; Winifred’s hair was rolled pepperoni, her dress was sliced Kiwi; Mary’s hair was black raspberries, her dress was sliced strawberries. I used letter icing to draw on the eyes and mouths on each, making Sara’s mouth normal, Mary’s mouth sideways, and Winiford’s small with tic-tac teeth. It really came out great looking. I even put conversation balloons on each. Sara’s said “Amuck, Amuck, Amuck” with a bat and spider on it. Mary’s said “I Smell Children” with a small cauldron on it. Winiford’s said “BOOook” with a small book and musical notes on it. Everyone loved it. I even made a "Book" out of a brownie.

I also made up the spell book for Winifred (Mary) to hold and a vacuum for Mary (Carol) to hold.


I think we looked pretty good.

Sara Sanderson (me) Winifred Sanderson (Mary) Mary Sanderson (Carol)

The Sanderson Sisters



Carol even dressed her dog, Kallie, in costume.

Of course, being so cold outside, we went inside to keep warm and ended up playing cards. People came in to see us and Mary, the real one would tell them:

"This is what we do when there are no children around".

At 6:30pm, in 40-degree weather, we took the golf cart and rode around the campground shouting: AMUCK, AMUCK, AMUCK; I smell children; and Booook! We had so much fun.


Then we joined others at the bonfire and announced the winners of the site decorating and pumpkin carving contests. The site winner got a basket from Maple Grove Farms and the others got a choice of several envelopes containing money. Unfortunately, there was only one person who carved a pumpkin who naturally won first prize of $25.

and the one carved pumpkin...

Happy Halloween Everyone....



bottom of page