top of page
  • Loretta Hubler

Halloween

Columbus Day is the last official holiday party in the campground. So they celebrate by having Halloween. We had a pot luck dinner, a Halloween costume contest and a pumpkin carving contest. This year our costumes had to have a theme, a play on words and everyone had to guess what the play of words was. My costume was an all black outfit with chains hanging around my body with pictures of food all over it, Food Chains. We had an Indian giving away candy bars, an Indian Giver, a guy had a white t-shirt with the letter “P” all over it and did his eyes in all black, Black Eye Peas and the winner was a woman dressed in a dinosaur outfit with words and their meanings all over it, Thesaurus. It was fun and the bonfire felt really good. It was only 55 degrees and I couldn’t wear my coat over all those chains and pictures. Jack carved a pumpkin of an angry cat and I put in cat-eyes painted black that really looked cool when I put a battery-operated light inside. He also painted a cat face on three small pumpkins and named them Milo, Toby and Sweetpie, names of the campground cats. There were only three pumpkins, one traditional pumpkin carving, one had a carving of a pig with a blanket wrapped around it and the winning pumpkin was actually a piece of wood carved as a shrunken pumpkin head.


My costume - Food Chains Winner - Thesaurus

Play on words Pigs in a blanket Indian Giver


These are the other pumpkins in the contest

The winner


Jack carved the big cat and painted the three small ones - Milo, Toby and SweetiePie, the owner's cats


I just couldn't decide what color I liked best.....



Flamingo funeral, Linda wasn't very happy Of course we had a huge bonfire



bottom of page